University Advisement Center

Photo of student being advised

University Advisement Center

Welcome to the University Advisement Center

The University Advisement Center seeks to enhance the experience and academic success of 嫩草影院's undergraduate students. UAC's Academic Advisors are dedicated to helping students reach their highest potential, providing awareness of resources and supporting academic success.

Hablamos Espa帽ol

... and many other languages, too!

Just use our translation tool in the upper right-hand corner to find yours

Why Would I Talk to an Academic Advisor?

Walk in Advisement

Walk-in hours are available for quick advising sessions and are intended for brief guidance on matters such as:

  • Referrals to resources and offices for further assistance and exploration
  • Concerns regarding academic policies and procedures
  • General Education class add/drop 
  • Discussing a pass/fail option
  • Discussing class withdrawals
  • Change part time/full time status
  • Declaring a major/minor 

In Person & Virtual Walk-Ins

Vodra Hall, Room 101
Monday 鈥 Thursday: 10:00 a.m. 鈥 12:00 p.m. & 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Friday: 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.


Advisement Appointment

  • Ask for advice on course registration and academic planning
  • To solve complex registration issues
  • Discuss degree requirements, including 嫩草影院 Core, Majors, and Minors
  • Clarification on baccalaureate and general education requirements
  • Change in major/minor 
  • Major exploration
  • Plan a reasonable and timely graduation
  • Post-grad planning

Academic Advisors

Your academic advisor is your guide to success at 嫩草影院. Academic Advisors are assigned to assist new, undeclared, transfer, and veteran students. You will be able to find your assigned advisor by your program of study below.

Walk-ins are always welcome. Appointments are strongly encouraged.

Tracy Kurtiak
Accounting, Economics, Finance, Marketing, Management, Global Business, Supply Chain
For Students with Last Name A 鈥 F
UAC: Vodra 101
201-200-2261
tkurtiak@njcu.edu

Crystal Villavert
Accounting, Economics, Finance, Marketing, Management, Global Business, Supply Chain
Honor Students
For Students with Last Name G-O
UAC: Vodra 101
201-200-3382
carreola@njcu.edu

Rob Romeo
Accounting, Economics, Finance, Marketing, Management, Global Business, Supply Chain
For Students with Last Name P-Z
UAC: Vodra 101
201-200-2021
RRomeo@嫩草影院.edu 

Courtney Chambers
Art
Visual Arts Building A-120
201-200-3214  
cchambers@njcu.edu 

Kathleen Banks
English, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Spanish, African American Studies, Latin American, Caribbean and Latino Studies & Women and Gender Studies
Vodra Hall 101 
kbanks@njcu.edu 
201-200-3569 

Daysi Romero
Psychology, Sociology & Social Work
For Students with Last Name A-K 
Vodra Hall 101
dromero@njcu.edu
201-200-2184

Manica Jacques
Psychology, Sociology & Social Work
For Students with Last Name L-Z 
Vodra  Hall 101
mjacques@njcu.edu
201-200-2104

Sandy Checo
Music and Media Arts
Vodra  Hall 101
201-200-2279
scheco@njcu.edu 

Vivianne Jimenez
Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Earth and Environmental Science, Computer Science, Mathematics (STEM)
UAC: Vodra 101
201-200-2373
vjimenez@njcu.edu

Lakeesha Conyers 
Criminal Justice: 0-74 credits
Health Science: 0-60 Credits
UAC:Vodra 101
201-200-2023
lconyers1@njcu.edu

Mohamed Kaifa
Criminal Justice: 75+ credits
Education and Professional Studies Building: Suite 220
201-200-2416
mkaifa@njcu.edu

Anna Scanniello
Fire Science
Education and Professional Studies Building: P-441
201-200-3370
ascanniell@njcu.edu

Syed Haider
Program Coordinator
National and Professional Security Studies
Education and Professional Studies Building: P-453
201-200-2386
shaider1@njcu.edu

Dr. Scott Fisher
National and Professional Security Studies
Education and Professional Studies Building: P-449
201-200-2275
sfisher1@njcu.edu

Please print out the document below to prepare for your next advisement meeting

Advisee Syllabus

Contact Us

Vodra Hall, Room 101
Monday 鈥 Friday | 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
201-200-3300
uac@njcu.edu